You Are the Scorer: Number 4

YouAreScorer


Scenario:
The batter hits a fly-ball to a gap in the outfield and rounds first base, slides into second, touches the bag, but then overslides and is put out before making contact again. 

As the official scorer, with what should you credit the batter?

A – An at-bat but no hit.
B – A single.
C – A double.

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

Answer:
 B – A single.

Rule 10.06(c) states:
… When the batter attempts to make a two-base hit or a three-base hit by sliding, he must hold the last base to which he advances. If a batter-runner overslides and is tagged out before getting back to the base safely, he shall be credited with only as many bases as he attained safely …

2 Responses to You Are the Scorer: Number 4

  1. Tim November 28, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    Well I never knew that – I would have had him down as a straight out (Option A). So I guess you would credit him with the single, plus record an out but how do assists and put-outs work here? Is it just a putout for whoever tagged him (presumably second baseman) once he slid past the base?

  2. Joe Gray November 28, 2008 at 7:27 pm #

    It’s essentially the same as if someone was thrown out trying to turn a single into a double. You’d score a single and an out, with the out being an assist to whoever threw it in (or two assists if a relay was used) and then a put-out as you describe. It might be a slightly cheap outfield assist if the runner was put-out because of a sliding mistake, but it would be an outfield assist nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes