You Are the Scorer: Number 30

YouAreScorer

Scenario: The batter hits a fizzing liner straight back at the pitcher, who instinctively tries to turn away from the pitch. The ball loops up off the pitcher’s back and bounces in front of the shortstop, who scoops the ball up and fires it over to first to retire the batter-runner.

How would you put the play down in your scorebook?

A – 1-6-3.
B – 6-3.

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

Answer:
 A – 1-6-3.

Rule 10.10(a)(1) Comment states:
Mere ineffective contact with the ball shall not be considered an assist. “Deflect” shall mean to slow down or change the direction of the ball and thereby effectively assist in putting out a batter or runner.

While unintentional, the pitcher’s involvement is clearly assisting the putting out of the batter-runner, as without it the ball would probably have got through to the outfield.

4 Responses to You Are the Scorer: Number 30

  1. Chris May 29, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

    Woo-Hoo! I got one right!

    😀

  2. CJ June 4, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    Another question for you – its a stats one this time. Should an uncaught 3rd strike be considered as reaching on an error or not? (you are so much better than the rule book or google for these questions)
    Thanks for the help again!

  3. Joe Gray June 4, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

    “Thank you CJ” (from The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin).

    No error is charged (if the batter reaches first it goes
    down as a strike-out with a passed ball/wild pitch). In general, the rule-book is kind to catchers. One exception to watch out for is catcher’s interference, which does go down as an error against the catcher.

  4. CJ June 4, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

    Awesome, could not find anywhere online to clear it up – wasted about an hour looking. In the particular example I needed help with I still gave an error on the catcher as his throw was not that good and the runner was the slowest on our team, would have had him by a mile. There were also 2 out and it let a run score – it wasn’t the best day for them… Thanks for clearing it up, no doubt I’ll be in touch soon! CJ

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes