You Are the Scorer: Number 45

YouAreScorer

Scenario: The first batter of the inning singles, but the second player up grounds into a double-play. After the third batter in the innning hits a triple, the fourth draws a walk to put runners on the corners. The runner on first is picked off and gets caught in a run-down, triggering the other runner to head for home. The player in the run-down manages to avoid being put out for long enough for the run to score, and, following a continuation of the run-down, then reaches second on what is clearly an error.

As the official scorer, is the run an earned one?

A – Yes.
B – No.

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

Answer:
A – Yes.

In a reconstructed inning without the error, the run still scores as the third out was a tag play, not a force play.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes