About the Post

Author Information

Joe is the founder of Project COBB, under which he serves as Stats and Research Manager for the GB National Team and chairs the British Baseball Hall of Fame. Joe's writing has been published in book form by Fineleaf.

You Are the Scorer: Number 47

YouAreScorer

Scenario: With a runner on first the batter appears to have a hit a run-scoring triple, but the preceding runner is called out on a appeal play for failing to touch second base.

The batter obviously loses a run batted in, but, as the official scorer, to what do you downgrade the triple?

A – A double.
B – A single.
C – No hit (just an at-bat).

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

Answer:
C – No hit (just an at-bat).

Rule 10.05(b)(2) states:
[The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a] batter apparently hits safely and a runner who is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner fails to touch the first base to which such runner is advancing and is called out on appeal. The official scorer shall charge the batter with a time at bat but no hit.

Tags:

One Response to “You Are the Scorer: Number 47”

  1. Joe Cooter #

    That happened in a game earlier this year when the Mets Ryan Church failed to touch third in a game against the Dodgers. The mets went on to lose the game by one run.

    September 26, 2009 at 3:01 pm Reply

Leave a Reply