About the Post

Author Information

Joe is the founder of Project COBB, under which he serves as Stats and Research Manager for the GB National Team and chairs the British Baseball Hall of Fame. Joe's writing has been published in book form by Fineleaf.

You Are the Scorer: Number 50


Scenario: With the home team leading 13-1 after 6 innings, the starting pitcher switches places with the right fielder to preserve the moundsman’s arm. The right fielder gives up 9 runs in the next 2 innings, though, so the starter is brought back to the mound to pitch the top of the ninth. With the home team now leading 13-10, he strikes out the side in order to close out the game.

As the official scorer you give the starter the win, as all of the rulebook’s criteria are met, but do you also award a save?

A – Yes.
B – No.

Highlight the text below to reveal the answer:

Answer: B – No.

Rule 10.19(b) states:
[The official scorer shall credit a pitcher with a save when] He is not the winning pitcher.


One Response to “You Are the Scorer: Number 50”

  1. Jared Butteerworth #

    no beacuse you can not win and save a game

    November 4, 2009 at 11:50 pm Reply

Leave a Reply